Protected areas, Natura 2000 network and Forests

National Parks

The Framework Law on protected areas (n. 394 of 1991) defines the national parks as “terrestrial, fluvial, lacustrine or marine areas that contain one or more ecosystem intact or even partially altered by anthropic interventions, one or more physic, geologic, geomorphologic, biologic formation of international or national interest for its natural, cultural, scientific, aesthetic, educational or recreational values that are such to require the intervention of the State in order to preserve them for the benefit of present and future generations”.

The management of the territories located within the National Parks is in charge of the Park Management Body, subject to the surveillance of the Ministry for Environment and constituted by: the President, the Directive Council, the Executive Committee, the Account Revision Committee and the Park Community.

The Park Management Body adopts the Plan and the Regulation of the Park: the first defines the organization and the objectives of the Protected Area, the second rules the activities allowed within the area. Today in Italy there are 22 national parks of whom 2 in Emilia-Romagna (Foreste Casentinesi and Tuscan-Aemilian Apennine). Both derive from former regional parks (respectively Crinale Romagnolo and Alto Appennino Reggiano) and include the Apennines ridge between Emilia-Romagna and Tuscany.

Park map

Document Actions

published on 2018/11/19 12:15:00 GMT+1 last modified 2019-04-17T13:12:36+01:00

Rate this website

Looking for something else?